Photographs of Helsinki

I was haunted today
By memories of you
I haven’t seen you for months
All I could do about it was
Write passive-aggressive Post-It Notes
And half-arsed words on scraps
But I had a dream the other night
You were there, and I spoke to you
“Pull me apart!” I said
So you did
You started with my fingers,
Like stepping on
Lego bricks and glass
The pain was sharp, at first
And when I woke up, it was only numb
The room was cold
I was freezing
Like I just saw a ghost
But I reminded myself
I don’t believe in ghosts
Until I bumped into you down the road

Leave a Reply

